What tree category do you want?

There are two main categories of trees: evergreen and deciduous. 

Evergreen trees keep their leaves and deliver visual interest all year long. They also can shelter your home from frosty winter winds while providing a natural privacy screen to your yard. 

Deciduous trees shed their leaves every year. Even without their leaves, they can provide 4-season interest with their branch structure and bark patterns.  Whether you want flowers, fruits, nuts or glowing fall foliage, there is a native, deciduous tree for you to choose from.

For More Information


  • The Tree Book: Superior Selections for Landscapes, Streetscapes, and Gardens Michael A. Dirr, Keith S. Warren, 2019
  • Native Trees, Shrubs & Vines: A Guide to Using, Growing and Propagating North American Woody Plants, William Cullina, Houghton Mifflin, 2002
  • Trees and Shrubs of New England, Marilyn Dwelley, Down East Books, 2nd ed., 2000. 
  •  Trees in the Urban Landscape: Site Assessment, Design, and Installation, Peter Trowbridge and Nina L. Bassuk, John Wiley & Sons Inc., 2004.


Fun Fact

Weston’s most common species are:

  • Pinus strobus (white pine), 24%
  • Quercus rubra (red oak),13%    
  • Acer rubrum (red maple), 9%
  • Quercus velutina (black oak), 8%
  • Acer platanoides (Norway maple—invasive species), 7%

Show All Answers

1. What is my hardiness zone?
2. What tree category do you want?
3. How much sun will the tree get?
4. What soil type will the tree grown in?