Conservation Commission

The Weston Conservation Commission is responsible for the protection and management of Weston’s natural resources and the administration of the Massachusetts Wetlands Protection Act (General Laws Chapter 131, Section 40), including the Rivers Protection Act.. 

While the Commission is responsible for a substantial amount of conservation land in town, private organizations such as Land’s Sake, Inc. and the Weston Forest and Trail Association provide significant assistance in maintaining this land.

The Commission is comprised of seven voting members who are appointed by the Select Board, each for a three-year term.

Meeting Schedule

All meetings are open to the public. Deadlines to submit application materials can be found in the schedule below.


  • Joseph Berman, Chair
    Term expires: 2024
  • Alison Fronk Barlow
    Term expires: 2025
  • Glenn Butcher
    Term expires: 2025
  • Robert Mosher
    Term expires: 2024
  • Ellen Freeman Roth
    Term expires: 2026
  • Sean Rush
    Term expires: 2026
  • Rees Tulloss
    Term expires: 2024

Associate Members

  • Paula Nicholas - Dickson Riding Ring
  • Jeri Cooper - Friends of Weston Reservoir
  • Brian Donahue - Deer and Forestry programs
  • Freddie Wiss - Community Gardens

Wetland Protection Act Administration

The Conservation Commission is responsible for reviewing and permitting all work (construction, cutting, grading, or new landscaping) in or near wetlands, ponds, and rivers in the Town of Weston under Massachusetts Wetlands Protection Act (310 CMR 10) and its implementing Regulations. Currently, Weston does not have a local wetlands bylaw; however, the Commission has a 25-Foot No Disturb Zone Policy (PDF) and a Tree Removal Policy for landowners.

How to Get a Wetlands Permit

Find detailed information, including a request for determination of applicability and filing a notice of intent, and related policies outlined on the Obtaining a Wetlands Permit web page.

More Information

For more information regarding the Conservation Commission and the Conservation Department, please view the following documents and pages: